One month in…

I already knew that the LEL 2017 was an idea in 2015 when I paid £100 deposit to reserve a place. My reasoning was that if I did not go through with it the £100 would be put to good use considering all the work that the organisers/volunteers do behind the scenes. Well as you can gather I went ahead with paying the rest of the entry, joined Audax UK in August 2016, entered the Celtic Knot 1000 km and already had thoughts of this blog with the idea of possibly raising money for charity. However for some unkown reason except that possibly I am one of the world’s biggest procrastinators come New Years Eve I still had not started with the blog or stepped up with the cycling. After lengthy discussions back and forth with Debbi whilst walking around the golf course (we were away for the New Year weekend) it was decided even though no training had been done in the saddle a good base and preparation had been accomplished in other areas (losing weight, building a new bike etc- more info to follow…) and that  January would be a good time as any to start. Celtic Knot in late June, LEL end of July- how difficult could it be?

As a result New Years Day I was in the hotel gym doing 21 km on the exercise bike pledging to start 2017 as I mean to go on. The following week I was in touch with the different charities and with help this blog was set up last Wednesday.

From a cycling point of view, as I work full time(at least four days/week depending on needs/demand), the plan is to get out at least twice a week building up miles in the legs and twice a week on work days try do at least an hour on the stationary bike. January was good as beginner months go: 1311 km, 63 hours pedalling time, 6 rides over 100 km. More info at https://www.strava.com/athletes/11887776/training/log

Going forward I have registered for some Audax rides. My first Audax event in the UK is this Saturday 4 February, Straight on at Rosie’s 200 km starting in Alfreton. I am a bit apprehensive and excited and if successful this will be furthest I have cycled in about 10 years. Other Audax rides I have already registered for are The Horsepower 200 on Saturday 4 March, Bomber County 208km on Saturday 18 March, and Lincolnshire Poacher 400 km on Saturday 20 May. For those readers who are interested in reading more about Audax UK and different events this can be done at http://www.aukweb.net/home/

 

 

Leave a comment